Judges of the Southern District of California



 Select Judge From List

District Judges

 Hon. Michael M. Anello
 Hon. Cynthia Bashant
 Hon. Anthony J. Battaglia
 Hon. Cathy Ann Bencivengo
 Hon. Roger T. Benitez
 Hon. Larry Alan Burns
 Hon. Gonzalo P. Curiel
 Hon. William B. Enright
 Hon. William Q. Hayes
 Hon. John A. Houston
 Hon. Marilyn L. Huff
 Hon. M. James Lorenz
 Hon. Jeffrey T. Miller
 Hon. Barry Ted Moskowitz
 Hon. Dana M. Sabraw
 Hon. Janis L. Sammartino
 Hon. Thomas J. Whelan

Magistrate Judges

 Hon. Michael S. Berg
 Hon. Robert N. Block
 Hon. Ruben B. Brooks
 Hon. Jill L. Burkhardt
 Hon. Karen S. Crawford
 Hon. Mitchell D. Dembin
 Hon. William V. Gallo
 Hon. Peter C. Lewis
 Hon. Linda Lopez
 Hon. Barbara L. Major
 Hon. Ruth Bermudez Montenegro
 Hon. Andrew G. Schopler
 Hon. Bernard G. Skomal
 Hon. Nita L. Stormes

Under Article III of the United States Constitution, the President appoints United States district judges with the advice and consent of the Senate. The Southern District of California, one of the busiest courts in the federal judiciary, has thirteen authorized judgeships.

Magistrate Judges serve as judicial officers of the U.S. District Courts and exercise the jurisdiction delegated to them by law and as assigned by the district judges. The Court currently has ten full-time magistrate judge positions in San Diego, and one full-time magistrate judge in El Centro.

Select a Judge from the list on the left to view more information about each Judge, including Court Calendars and Public Documents.