Pro Hac Vice.
An attorney not eligible for admission under Civil Local Rule 83.3.c, but who is
a member in good standing of, and eligible to practice before, the bar of any United
States Court or of the highest court of any state or of any territory or insular
possession of the United States, who is of good moral character, and who has been
retained to appear in this court, may, upon written application and in the discretion
of the court, be permitted to appear and participate in a particular case. Unless
authorized by the Constitution of the United States or acts of Congress, an attorney
is not eligible to practice pursuant to this local rule if any one or more of the
following apply to the attorney: (1) resides in California, (2) is regularly employed
in California, or (3) is regularly engaged in business, professional, or other activities
pro hac vice application and admission card shall be presented to
the clerk, along with a one time admission fee of two hundred and six dollars ($206.00).
The application and admission card are available on-line and in the Clerk's Office.
The application shall state under penalty of perjury (1) the attorney's residence
and office addresses, (2) by what court(s) the attorney has been admitted to practice
and the date(s) of admission, (3) that the attorney is in good standing and eligible
to practice in said court, (4) that the attorney is not currently suspended or disbarred
in any other court, and (5) if the attorney has concurrently or within one year
preceding the current application made any pro hac vice application to this court,
the title and the number of each matter wherein the application was made, and the
date of application, and whether or not the application was granted. The attorney
shall also designate in the application a member of the bar of this court with whom
the court and opposing counsel may readily communicate regarding the conduct of
the case and upon whom papers shall be served. The attorney shall file with such
application the address, telephone number and written consent of such designee.
Although the $206 admission fee is required only once, a pro hac vice application
is required for each case in which an attorney is pro hac vice.